Rotary Club of Tirupur - Rotary India

Download the Rotary India Mobile App
AppStore Google Play
Contact details:

About Us


Rotary Club of Tirupur has the distinction of being the 1st Rotary Club in Tirupur and the 5th club in Tamilnadu after Chennai, Coimbatore, Ooty and Salem. It was sponsored by RC – Coimbatore and was chartered on 27/5/1955 with 20 members in the then Rotary District 320. Rotary in Tirupur, represented by one club with 20 members, has now grown into 28 clubs with more than 2000 members. What a phenomenal growth! It’s a reflection of the economic status of Tirupur city and the mental attitude of people who are ever willing to share their prosperity and happiness with the under privileged. The charter President of our club was Rtn. M. N. Veerabhadra Chettiar of the famous Dhanalakshmi Mills and charter Secretary was Rtn. S. R. Shanmugam. Our club has sponsored RCs of Tirupur South, North, Dharapuram, Avinashi, Palladam, Tirupur Next Generation and hence is fondly called the Grandfather Club. Many of our erstwhile members, one of the notable ones being Padmashri A. Sakthivel, Chairman,Apparel Export Promotion Council are responsible for the development and growth of Tirupur and its export industry. Our club is proud to have as our member, our past district Governor Dr. A Muruganathan whose unstinted support and guidance have enabled us to execute many projects in and around Tirupur for the betterment of the society. The flagship project of our club is the Rotary Matriculation School, with a built up area of 20,000 sq ft. It was established in 1963 and like our club has the distinction of being the 1st English medium school in Tirupur. Our club is fortunate to command the respect of all the clubs in the district. One should be lucky and proud to become a Rotarian in our club.